Reviews

A pleasant stay in Wigston

5 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 02 Dec 2021

Great wee hotel very reasonably priced situated on the out skirts of Leicester, in Wigston village, the staff were very efficient and friendly. We stayed for three nights breakfasts were the usual hotel buffet breakfast but were very good, room was clean and tidy and well serviced. We ate in the hotels restaurant Villa Italia on one of the nights it was excellent. There was a wedding in the hotel on the Saturday night, but there was no noise problem, all in all a good break at this hotel will definitely stay here again.

by IGordon, Belfast, United Kingdom

Dirty cups

4 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 29 Nov 2021

Although the room was pleasant and comfortable the cups and spoons provided were dirty, there was no soap, hand wash or shower gel and the sheet on the bed was lopsided and tucked in only one side until I remade the bed the following morning. The staff we met were all welcoming and I can recommend eating at Bella Italia

by jagmiller36, Potters Bar, United Kingdom

Brilliant 2 night stay

5 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 14 Nov 2021

Spent 2 nights on a bed and breakfast basis and thoroughly enjoyed it. The bedroom and bathroom exceeded expectations and was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was delicious, buffet style with plenty of choices from the cold table and the usual hot bacon, eggs and sausages etc. Staff were brilliant, helpful and friendly especially the receptionist, and restaurant manageress.
Large car park and bus stop nearby for regular quick service to city centre. Also only a 15/20 minute walk into Wigston for the pubs and restaurants. Will definitely return.

by 2010mustang, Cheshire, United Kingdom

Excellent staff and facilities for events.

5 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 27 Sep 2021

I stayed 2 nights with other group members for an extended family gathering and meal prior to a funeral reception held at the hotel the following day. All the staff we met during our stay were polite and so helpful including the breakfast restaurant staff. A special mention must go in particular to Magda and Noelle on reception who helped us start the organisation of our events from the outset and Chantal who managed our events brilliantly. Sarah and her team who catered for us on the 24/9 couldn’t have done more to help ensure everything went smoothly. A mention must also go to the young lady behind the bar that day who kept us well supplied with tea and coffee after the funeral reception. Food for both the meal and reception was very good as are the rooms. But overall it is the staff that make the stay at Wigston Hoiday Inn excellent.

by Maria G

All good in Leicester

5 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 18 Sep 2021

This is lovely and clean hotel with free parking the rooms are modern and clean with air-conditioning is that works, what more could you asked for. all the staff are great if you ever need a place to stay you can’t go far wrong with this hotel. I found the breakfast to be plentiful and included in the room price

by Ben J, Gran Canaria, Spain

Best Hotel I have stayed in for 10 years

5 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 07 Sep 2021

My wife and I came to Leicester to set up my daughter at the University of Leicester. There are three or four Holiday Inn hotels in Leicester. I am so glad I came to this one.

The first thing to note is the level of service. It was exceptional. Some people drop this term lightly - I assure, you I am not. From reception to breakfast to home keeping, the staff were so professional and genuinely caring and considerate.

The hotel also has a light feel to it - not only is it bright, but the interactions of the staff to each other and their guests is reflective. This may not mean much - but to me it is important because negative moods and attitudes can be infectious.

The staff really enhanced our stay here. My wife and I were anxious leaving our daughter across the ocean to study. However, the staff went out of their way in guiding us to good shopping centres and other local information they did not have to share, but wanted to share to help us out. We greatly appreciated these acts of kindness and hospitality.

The room size is what one would expect of the UK. The in-house Italian restaurant was also surprisingly very good as well.

I agree with others who have rated this hotel highly - it is an exceptional hotel that has achieved the pinnacle of customer service - certainly above the Hiltons and Embassy Suites I have stayed in over the past ten years.

by Omar K

Good clean room and facilities

4 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 25 Aug 2021

The room and facilities were great. Nice to have the Bella Italia as part of it, which made getting ready easy for a family with two kids. We were pleasantly surprised with everything about the place. Breakfast was very good too, with plenty of choice.
The only sour point for us, was that I left my coat/jacket in the bar area and it wasn’t handed in 🙁 This wasn’t exactly the hotels fault, but it wasn’t busy, so was surprised it wasn’t found and handed in.

by DanBulman, Scarborough

Clean and comfy room

5 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 07 Aug 2021

Myself and my fiance stayed for a weekend visiting Leicester and was so happy with our choice of hotel. Just 20 minutes from the city centre made it easy to nip in and out to tick off the excursions we had planned. We were greeted by Noelle who was so friendly and welcoming. We were swiftly checked in and directed to our room which was spacious and spotlessly clean. The bed was so comfortable, we slept so well. That was until 4am on our second night, when our neighbours returned and all we could hear was the banging of doors and laughter which woke us both up, despite being heavy sleepers. We didn't get back to sleep for hours and woke up tired. Not exactly the fault of the hotel but sound proofing of the doors would be a benefit. The breakfast was fine, the trays of hot food were empty at times, which the staff removed when asked, although there was a wait at times for the tray refill. We were offered tea or coffee and top ups on our second breakfast which was nice. With supermarkets and petrol stations a stones throw away, it's a great location for anything you may need. I Would certainly recommend staying here.

by marthiex, Diss, United Kingdom

Great Hotel, warm welcome and helpful staff

5 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 23 Jul 2021

I was pleasantly surprised at the overall standard of this hotel given the good value on the two rooms I booked for an overnight stay with some family members.
The lobby was modern and the reception staff welcoming. The room was well appointed clean and modern.The king size bed was extremely comfortable with adequate pillows.
We had room service and breakfast the next morning both of which were of a good standard with plenty of choice.
Well done to the staff for staying open throughout the Pandemic.

by Angela L, Coleford, United Kingdom

Little Gem

5 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 09 Jul 2021

Just returned from a 2 night stay can honestly say how impressed we were with this Hotel, All the staff we encountered were polite & helpful .. Stayed in Executive room which was roomy & comfortable, Breakfast plentiful with a good choice.
We ate at the Bella Italia adjoining the Hotel one night which was good .and reasonably priced.
would recommend. .

by Debra D, Exeter, United Kingdom